Channel Spotlight: Gamer’s Guide

SPOTLIGHT ON GAMER'S GUIDE

Welcome to Channel Spotlight, ThisWeekinLP’s in-depth look at small channels that deserve more love. This week we’re joined by the great Gamer’s Guide, and he was only too happy to tell me about scripting his show, being a control freak about content creation, and realising that you don’t have to be a big channel to make a difference.

TWiLP: So tell me a little bit about yourself!

Gamer’s Guide: Hi! I’m Jemarc the Gamer Guide. I’m 24 years old (turn 25 this year) and I’m kind of from all over. I grew up in Japan, and moved around a ton as a military brat, but right now I’m living in Delaware with my fiance.

TWiLP: What got you started making content?

Gamer’s Guide: I’ve kind of jumped around as a YouTuber over the years. I started back in the early days of YouTube back in 2005 trying vlogs out, I then used my personal channel for posting my dance videos, and made a production company for short films.

The gaming content is more a “for me” thing. I love video games and a lot of people offer up theories about games themselves, or culture in gaming, and a lot of people do let’s plays which is awesome but I really wanted to stand out and do something unique.

TWiLP: So how did you come up with Gamer’s Guide?

Gamer’s Guide: This kind of gets into my background a bit. I got a degree in English and Theatre and spent my first few years out of college working in education. I’ve also been a gamer all my life (it was my way of coping with moving so much) and I wanted to make a channel that combined my love of education, performance, and gaming. So Gamer’s Guide was born!

I wanted to make a channel dedicated to promoting positive energy and breaking stigmas in the gaming community but, most of all, dedicated to educating people about different aspects of the world/life/philosophy by “guiding” them through video games!

TWiLP: Saying you’ve spent a lot of time playing games – what are some of your favourites?

Gamer’s Guide: I love JRPGs. My top favorite games are Suikoden II, Chrono Trigger, and Majora’s Mask. But for newer games I just beat Horizon Zero Dawn and loved it, and I am addicted to Breath of the Wild.

TWiLP: Working solo on your channel, are there ever times you wish you could share the workload with someone? Or do you prefer to work alone?

Gamer’s Guide: Yes and no. My best friend is a co-writer for my channel so I have him look at my scripts and punch them up for me, and occasionally he does write scripts (like the Dishonoured episode). Beyond that I cover all the writing, conceptualizing, filming, and editing, but I would definitely love to bring some guest editors on board sometime.

The issue for me is I’m a bit of a control freak when it comes to my content. I like everything to be done in a timely matter and if I fall behind because it’s my fault that’s one thing, but it’s hard to place faith in someone with your work then not hear from them for weeks.

TWiLP: What kind of video is your favourite to make?

Gamer’s Guide: Hands down my main content, “Gamer’s Guide.” The process takes a ton of work but the reward is in the videos. Even if I don’t get a ton of views the people who do stop by can see how much work I put into each episode. If you watch the very first episode and then the most recent one, you can see that I’ve taken notes from the feedback I’ve been given. As a content creator that’s pretty cool!

I also have a very special place in my heart for my series “Peace, Love & GEEKDOM” because I love being able to connect with other members of the geeky community.

TWiLP: What’s the process for making videos? What equipment do you use?

Gamer’s Guide: To sum it up, I look at what games are coming out or what do people need to learn about with regards to our current social climate. So if it’s a video about a new game, I look at whether I can talk about a previous game in the series, or if it’s about a specific topic then what other games have a similar theme or issue.

In terms of equipment, I use a Ti5 rebel canon with a rode mic on top and I have my own super powerful lights from when I was running my production company. I then record all gameplay off my elgato HD60 and edit everything on my ASUS laptop with Adobe Premiere Pro and Photoshop. I really want to build my own tower one day but gotta save up for that.

TWiLP: You recently did a livestream for charity – what was the thought behind that?

Gamer’s Guide: I want to make a difference. Starting my channel was basically me admitting that “now” is the right time. I always made excuses. The charity stream was me convincing myself that I don’t have to be HUGE to make a difference. Every little bit helps, and the stream was quite successful! With a goal of 1k we ended up making $435 which, all things considered was a very pleasant surprise!

TWiLP: How has it been, building up an audience for your content?

Gamer’s Guide: So, in regards to my let’s play videos, they haven’t really build up an audience for me at all. I think it’s because the community is so saturated. I do make a point to keep my let’s play series unique which is why I call it “role-play gaming”. One of my dreams is to become a voice actor working in the industry, so the let’s lay videos I make are generally very dialogue heavy. They are a great opportunity for people to really check out someone who is working towards becoming a voice actor instead of already amazing at it.

TWiLP: What has the response been like, overall?

Gamer’s Guide: The response to the let’s plays has been generally positive although minimal. With regards to my regular content, they’ve been very popular! All of my content generally has very positive reviews and I feel fortunate that my viewers are all very loyal and not just there for the occasional giveaways I do.

TWiLP: Is there anything you particularly want to say to people just starting out making gaming content, or YouTube in general?

Gamer’s Guide: Find a balance between business and pleasure, but don’t stress about the numbers. If you want to be big on YouTube you need to go for it and treat every decision you make like a business decision. However, it can be super stressful and it takes a lot of resilience. It can be really disheartening to work very hard on content and have no one notice, but you just need to keep at it. Oh, and be unique! There’s a ton of people making super similar content out there. You need a hook to make yourself stand out above the crowd, even if you gotta shout out loud.

Thanks again to Jemarc for taking the time to answer my questions! Make sure to follow him on Twitter and check out his YouTube channel.

Leave a Reply

